Reading 9 Read-a-likes for Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng (NoveList Suggestions)

Hello, friends!

A goal of mine is to write creative blog posts this year, and this is the first one I’m going to start off with. I’ve had it in the works for a long time, but I never got around to starting it. I was hesitant because it involves a reread, and I don’t typically like to reread a book.

I will be rereading Little Fires Everywhere, then I will slowly make my way through the list. I will take notes on themes, writing styles, character traits, etc. I did a project in a college class I took for my job that involved finding read-a-likes, and I thought it would be a fun experiment. I’m not putting pressure on myself to finish this in a month. I’m planning to stretch it out all year, and when I finish it, I finish it. I will update you when I finish the challenge.

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Goodreads blurb:

Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

Digging to America by Anne Tyler

Goodreads blurb:

A luminous novel brimming with subtle, funny, and tender observations that cast a penetrating light on the American way as seen from two perspectives, those who are born here and those who are still struggling to fit in.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Goodreads blurb:

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the little lies that can turn lethal.

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

Goodreads blurb:

Set in New York and China, The Leavers is a vivid and moving examination of borders and belonging. It’s the story of how one boy comes into his own when everything he’s loved has been taken away–and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of her past.

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Goodreads blurb:

The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families’ lives.

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

Goodreads blurb:

Set within a contemporary black community in Southern California, Brit Bennett’s mesmerizing first novel is an emotionally perceptive story about community, love, and ambition. It begins with a secret.

Buddenbrooks: The Decline of a Family by Thomas Mann

Goodreads blurb:

It is the story of four generations of a wealthy bourgeois family in northern Germany facing the advent of modernity; in an uncertain new world, the family’s bonds and traditions begin to disintegrate.

The Professor’s House by Willa Cather

Goodreads blurb:

On the eve of his move to a new, more desirable residence, Professor Godfrey St. Peter finds himself in the shabby study of his former home . . . Enigmatic and courageous—and a tragic victim of the Great War — Tom has remained a source of inspiration to the professor. But he has also left behind him a troubling legacy which has brought betrayal and fracture to the women he loves most.

No One Can Pronounce My Name by Rakesh Satyal

Goodreads blub:

A Humorous And Tender Multigenerational Novel About Immigrants And Outsiders—Those Trying To Find Their Place In American Society And Within Their Own Families.

Laura & Emma by Kate Greathead

Goodreads blurb:

A tender, witty debut novel about a single mother raising her daughter among the upper crust of New York City society in the late twentieth century from a nine-time Moth StorySLAM champion.


If you enjoyed this, then give it a like and follow my blog. Be respectful and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s